Turning Flip Flops into Art in Kenya

Warthog made from flip flops by Ocean Sole in Kenya

Warthog made from flip flops by Ocean Sole in Kenya

Julie Church takes the many flip flops washed up and discarded on Kenyan beaches and turns them into amazing animal sculptures through her company Ocean Sole, which also provides employment opportunities and education about marine pollution. Ocean Sole now employs more than 100 Kenyans and their flip flop sculptures are sold in 40 zoos, aquariums and museums.

I tried to come up with a terrible pun involving flip flops but I’m afraid I couldn’t – so instead I’m just going to say that this is a wonderful, ingenious use of recycled materials!

Learn more about Ocean Sole.

Until next time…

Alison

Art Inspired by Africa and Conservation
A donation is made towards conservation in Africa from every sale
Visit my Website
Join my Mailing List
Find me on Facebook
Nicholls Wildlife Art

Leave a Reply

