Which Art Should I Buy? A Purchasing Guide by Artist Alison Nicholls.

Sun Spots by Alison Nicholls © 2012

Sun Spots by Alison Nicholls © 2012

As you might imagine, my home is filled with art. Much of it is not mine, because I spend so much time looking at my own art and it is nice to relax with someone else’s. But I’m astonished by the number of people who have no art on their walls. I’m equally astonished by the number of times people have said to me ‘I’d like some artwork but I don’t know what to buy’.

I always tell them its simple:
Your home, your walls, your money. Buy what you love.

Art should not be about impressing your friends with the price tag, the latest trend or the signature of a well-known artist. It should be about love. If you’re not sure what you love, visit a few art museums and galleries or search online. Find what you love. If you still don’t see anything, make an optician appointment or create your own!

I have had to give this advice more times than I care to remember. And I still haven’t learned my lesson. Because I really should be advising these people to buy brightly colored acrylics on canvas by a British artist living in the US who is inspired by Africa!

Until next time…
Alison

Art Inspired by Africa and Conservation
Visit my Website
Join my Mailing List
Find me on Facebook
Nicholls Wildlife Art

Leave a Reply

